New Semester!

This semester I’m continuing to work with Recap and EdPuzzle. For the first week’s introductory activities, I’m using the video function along with the multi-question vide responses. Last semester, I just had the students respond to typed prompts with a video. I realized that, despite my feedback, the students didn’t seem to be improving their pronunciation. So, I’ve added my own videos so that they can hear more Latin and hopefully hear the difference between my pronunciation and their own. I changed the question flow as well. Each question now concentrates on one picture. The students respond to the same prompts as before: read the caption aloud, identify what you don’t recognize, attempt a translation. Before, each set of questions was grouped together. Now, they have a video where I’m reading aloud first. My videos now review the translation from the last caption, identify what I don’t expect them to recognize, and then read the next caption aloud. The last video reads aloud the vocabulary and asks students to make a few connections or comment on what may confuse them with the new words. I’m hoping that this will be a better framework for starting each chapter.

About classicaltechnology

I have 15 years experience teaching Latin and using technology in classes. I strive to integrate what's new and exciting in a meaningful way. Here's what I try and how it turns out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment